The ‘Side-Effects’ of Road-Rage (Experimental Musings for Psychology)

Hello. It’s Pierce again. Obviously, it’s working. After never writing in public my entire life, I was able to panic my way through my introduction at the last post, and now have returned after being the subject of various physical experiments. I did sign a waiver and consent form, and would like to send out an invitation for more participants who are willing to vent their frustrations over me. Father?

In this diary entry, I want to react to comments made by Rick concerning the road-rage post. You can click here for the original article.

Here’s a part of what Rick said in his observations about who he thinks the actual road-rage perpetrator is:

“I don’t see how you had road rage? The other guy obviously had a bit or rage but seems like you kept to yourself – unless you were very angry inside and did not make that clear in your post. Or maybe you meant that suffering from road rage for the first time was suffering from some other douche bags rage?”

I am worried. I think Rick’s assessment of the situation is dead on. Do you ever have that feeling of discomfort when you see yourself exactly in somebody else’s personal pronouns? Though the authors and readers were immersed in their discussions without any knowledge of my identity, they may as well be talking about me.

I am that person. That person who keeps entirely to himself while the the cars, the people, the world, life, rages on. Do you think this reluctance to act, express, or even release anger every once in awhile, is more likely in procrastinators? The indecision means the moment to emotionally vent may have passed us by? And let’s take a bit of a leap here. From this, can we hypothesize that because procrastinators tend to hold off on responding, and maybe hold things inside a little bit more or longer, then the rage is often boiling and expressed inwards rather than outwards? In this case, may we be more likely to pop a blood vessel or have a greater incidence of high blood pressure? Can someone point to any experiments that have been done on some of these factors?

As Rick was musing about the possible meanings in his comments, I can tell him that even in their specific case where I was not a direct participant, I was definitely angry inside. Just by reading, I dug so deep within I almost performed a self-burial. And yes, being frozen and unable to act does mean only being able to experience these possibilities through the drama of others. Does this mean that procrastinators would have more difficulty telling personal experience stories because they have experienced less of life’s moments directly than others?

Me, personally, I’ve never had road-rage before. No, never. Not in the moment, not out there, not where you can collect any evidence of it. However, I have practiced it, studied it, simulated it, rewinded it, paused it, many, many, many times over with my car doors shut as tightly as the security system that protects my mind.

-Pierce

5 Comments

Filed under Procrastinator Diaries (Pierce)

5 responses to “The ‘Side-Effects’ of Road-Rage (Experimental Musings for Psychology)

  1. You have immense self control. I do rage from time to time, usually after being stuck in traffic for an unreasonable (say, 15 minutes) amount of time.

    I try my best to keep it under control, and mind my own business… But someone will cut me off, or refuse to let me merge, or make a left hand turn from a right hand lane and then flip me off for not smiling politely at then. … And I am filled with an urge to minimize them with my truck tires.

    Sorry, but I find your hypothesis to be inaccurate in my case. As a procrastinator I tend to procrastinate having any feelings of love and goodwill towards my fellow drivers who have annoyed me.

    Perhaps further case studies should be evaluated.
    😉

  2. Betme,
    Thanks for your feedback, and interpreting Pierce’s actions from a positive view. I’m not sure if Pierce wishes to have such a controlled self, and maybe his frustration at the driving scenario extends to other domains. This week he’s been taking the train and just setting up so many hypothetical situations in his mind, and just immersed so fully in his thoughts that it’s probably better that he’s not going to be driving this month.

    As for the hypothesis, I kind of can see the different angle you are coming from. In the experience you describe, if I’m understanding your point correctly, procrastination can be positive and humorous, and there’s no need to feel guilty about it. I hope that Pierce can see this side of it, and not clench his fists so tight, although we never really see this. When he clenches his fist, it’s actually his heart that is tightening, but his exterior is quite the polished stain-glass window.

    -patrick

  3. mistermanly

    Hi y’all,

    I used to do the road rage thing, until I realized it wasn’t manly since almost all of the time I wasn’t actually going to play bumper cars in traffic or risk hard time by opening fire on some idiot who was too busy jabbering on a cell phone to notice that several thousand other people were sharing his road. Now I just smile and concentrate on memorizing faces, just in case we happen to meet in person.

    Mister Manly

  4. Mister Manly,
    Good point. Yeh, with road-rage, most of the time is spent wasting energy on antics involving trying to psych the other person out…..sort of like doing everything to provoke a fight, without actually fighting. A lot of posturing, pretending, acting, but then usually just a whole bunch of fatigue when realizing the efforts consumed to accomplish nothing.

    For Pierce, it takes such a toll to constantly play these scenes in his mind; Mister Manly, by memorizing so many faces, is that taxing or actually method to diffuse anger?

    -patrick

  5. mistermanly

    Hi P,

    Well, I’m blessed with having a good memory for faces, and cursed where it comes to remembering names, so it’s not taxing. It also has little to do with anger, but is more like looking to do a public service by taking the chance to improve the driving skills of those we share the roads with. Really, I’m pretty much past the anger thing. Well, except when discussing politics. And religion. But my wife doesn’t allow me to talk about those subjects, so they don’t really count 🙂

    Mister Manly

Leave a Reply

