The Effects of ’24’ on Procrastination

“The following takes place between 10 and 11 AM.”

Hi, I’m Dawn, and I went dark recently. Sorry for taking the expression from the popular series “24.” But, it’s relevant because it’s a major reason for my disappearance lately. At least that’s my story, and I’m going to stick with it and carry it out as far as it can go.

By the way, can’t help but notice how quiet it has been here lately. With the blog name being ‘Procrastination Post’, are we spending more time in the ‘procrastination’ phase rather than the ‘post’ phase? I’m as guilty as anyone. While Sheri mentioned in her post about a lightning bolt, I don’t have as good a reason for my invisibility. But I will say that I took some time away in an honest, though perhaps unproductive, effort to deal with my procrastination. How? I watched DVDs!

I know, I know, television watching perhaps does more to aggravate and exacerbate procrastination than anything else, but it wasn’t any old plain kill time thing I was watching. I was watching 24! And I was watching Jack Bauer – perhaps the one person who is as far away as procrastination as you could get. That’s right! I’ve been away these days, busy watching 24 to try to instill a sense of urgency in my life via watching other characters operating under intense circumstances where every minute is life and death.

Can there be anyone tougher than Jack Bauer? Not only does he survive repeated torture, and various extreme methods of interrogation, he has to immediately recover with no down time, put it aside, and focus on the moment for the very next crucial task. There is little time to mourn failure, unsuccessful missions, deaths, because something of higher priority awaits. And in situations where everything seems important, he needs to prioritize and constantly sacrifice things that will cause pain.

I just finished watching a scene where Jack Bauer had to make one of those impossible decisions to choose between killing his friend (a member of his own team) or letting his friend fulfill personal revenge against a terrorist who is needed alive by the US government. Jack Bauer killed his friend. Would a procrastinator be able to choose in such a scenario? Would a procrastinator be able to act in a scenario 1000 times less intense?

Am I just plain silly and stupid to be even referencing a work of fiction, a character who is not real, to spur motivation? Will 24 make me write more, write better, write consistently? Will it help me write more urgently to save or change lives? Or am I exhausted just watching the show, feeling as if by watching I also participated in urgent action and overcame procrastination? Then the empty feeling comes after when realizing all I did was watch, and acted upon nothing. Do most of us sit and contemplate on the backs of a few whose actions determine the course of a country? I don’t think I have done anything for my country except think about it.

Then again, if we tried to live our normal lives like 24, would we die of stress or have other health complications? But maybe it’s worth it to feel so alive, so significant, and immersed in activities of impact? Or can I request to have 1 hour out of every 24 to be that intense? I guess what I’m looking for is some guarantee on time, some extreme risks with a safety net, but once I place a contingency on the moment, then I may as well be procrastinating again.

I’ll have to disappear again, and try to engage in 24 a little bit more effectively. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Actually, if successful, I won’t have to let anyone know…as significant change will be evident in itself without digging for minute details.

-Dawn

 

2 Comments

Filed under Procrastinator Diaries (Dawn)

2 responses to “The Effects of ’24’ on Procrastination

  1. Shkitty

    As 24 is one of my favorite shows, I’ve always marvelled at how much they were able to accomplish in the span of a day. Whether through teamwork, great leadership or just reacting while keeping the main goal in constant focus.
    I’ve lately been happy with myself if I can do three or four things on my ever growing ‘to do’ list. Just yesterday I felt the inner Jack Bauer have a ’24’ day as I was able to tackle something like 7 things off that list. My day didn’t have to deal with terrorists, torture or the decision to shoot a friend over a know killer because I needed him alive (that scene really bummed me out) but I felt the heat to get everything done in the span of a seemingly shorter and shorter day none the less.
    Shows like ’24’ and ‘Dexter’ have been making dramatic television in the last couple of years better and better. I’ve also heard similarly great things from shows like ‘Entourage’ and ‘Sapranos’. Only with only so much time available, you really do have to pick and choose what you waste time on.

  2. Shkitty,
    Thanks for your comments. Guess, with TV, they emphasize the 24 hours, but you would think that these kind of characters, or the real-life people in similar circumstances, get a lot of down time to recover from those 24 hours. Taking it down a notch, for me personally, I could just learn from the focus part and immense concentration…if some of that could carry over from TV to my life….
    -patrick

Leave a Reply

